Posted by: Lisa Pampuch | March 12, 2007

First iris of the season

After my co-worker, Jo, convinced me to adopt her iris habit, I bought a ridiculously large assortment and then got them planted late and unlabeled. I really thought I was so late in planting that the irises were doomed, so while I couldn’t stand the thought of not planting them, it didn’t seem worth the effort to label the irises that didn’t come with weather-proof plastic labels (the vast majority had paper labels stapled to them).

The first iris bloomed today, and now I have to begin identifying them. At least I kept good records of what I ordered, the color, height, and approximate bloom time.

Based on that, I suspect this wee bloom is a GNUZ Spread, a miniature dwarf bearded iris.

GNUZ Spread iris

GNUZ Spread iris side view

Leave a Reply

Categories

