Posted by: Lisa Pampuch | December 2, 2009

Agreeing with Andrew

Andrew Sullivan’s take on President Obama’s just-announced Afghan strategy mirrors my own:

I think this strategy is doomed. But then I think any strategy that does not pledge to colonize Afghanistan, pour trillions of dollars into it and stay for a century is doomed. So why do I end up this morning feeling rather similar to my colleague, Jim Fallows, who simply sighs: ‘Well, I hope he’s right”? …

He has made the very best of a very bad situation. And he is playing a long game for a win or a necessary withdrawal or both. I retain all my doubts; but I give him and Gates and McChrystal and Clinton and the troops all my support for the two years ahead. This much he and they deserve.

That “very bad situation” is the fault of George Bush, Dick Cheney, Donald Rumsfeld and the rest of their neocon cronies who lied the nation into a war with Iraq, diverting resources and attention from the war in Afghanistan.

I truly hope I’m wrong to believe, as Sullivan does, that this strategy is doomed, even though history suggests to us that it is. I’d love to be wrong.

Leave a Reply

Categories

